LEAVING EARLY

LEAVING EARLY

The cloud hasn’t left for months now.

It’s a grey haze around my head and

When I inhale, it’s all smog.

I’m surrounded my faces that smile and

Laugh and cry on cue.

Inside my duvet there’s nobody to

Fake happiness for.

I can curl up with my little grey cloud.

Sometime when my smile slips

The haze creeps from my mouth.

The faces frown in unison.

My cloud isn’t detachable, you

Can’t teach me not to see it’s there.

The haze is heavy to carry around,

But it is my friend when you are all busy.

It was my friend before I knew you,

And it will still be there when you are gone.

 

Picture Source: Imgrum

Leave a Reply

