Megacity

Megacity

Waking in a sweat in the middle of the night,

All my mind can think is how it would feel

Bare feet again the tarmac, naked to the concrete.

I’m pressing my knees so hard I’m going to go blind.

My legs shake with a burning desire for something

More, something bigger, something that would make me

Feel

Whole.

Is life just the sensation of refusing to leave

Snoring bodies in the middle of the night?

Can’t you feel the emptiness in the air?

I feel the emptiness in every crowd I’ve ever played in.

Put on your coat and leave him sleeping.

Do you give in to the instinct to escape it?

I’m starting to think loneliness doesn’t fade with age

But intensifies with every love you create.

 

Photograph from Lost in Translation

Leave a Reply

