Asphyxia

Asphyxia

Put your hands around my neck until I forget what air tastes like

I’ve never understood those who said it was sweet

With each draw of oxygen I’m gagging.

I can’t breathe because I breathe.

Put your hands around my neck until I forget what air feels like

It’s a bitter cocktail

I don’t regret this aggravation

An insignificant body of mine, of yours.

Put your hands around my neck until I forget what air looks like

You see me pass through the air

It’s fingers of wind slipping through my hair

Don’t catch me.

Put your hands around my neck until I forget what air smells like

Fresh cut grass is just more decay

A billion blades of grass all blur into one

I am but one blade in a field.

Put your hands around my neck until I forget what air sounds like

As the wind blows my skirt around my head

It is deafening, the silence

I cannot hear for the silence.

Put your hands around my neck until I forget.

 

 

Picture by Molly Newhouse

Leave a Reply

