Soft Spot

Soft Spot

I love you                                 and you

This is a note

To you                                 and you

 

I give my heart to the barista/the tired mother/the moody teenager

I give my heart to the homeless man

In silver little pieces

I give my heart to the bus driver/the blogger/the screaming toddler

 

Behind closed doors

I count the gaps in my heart.

 

I give my heart to the pine tree/the pond/the newborn duckling

I give my heart to the garden

In every word I say

I give my heart to the shelter/the bird/the daisy chain

 

I steal a piece of your heart

/smile/

I love you

And sometimes you

                                                                                love me back

Leave a Reply

